>Yoga is an 8 fold path

>There are 8 limbs in yoga as delineated by Patanjali in his Yoga Sutras.

A must have yoga book

Its not just about the physical practice, there are other pointers to help you on your path to enlightenment. Take some time to study these and start to bring them into your daily life so that even you can't practise your asana on a day you are still living yoga by following these principles.

Specifically the 8 paths are:-

  1. Yamas
  2. Niyamas (there are 5 points in each of these on how to live your life with the outer world and then the inside world and I'll focus on these on another post)
  3. Asana (physical practice of asana)
  4. Pranayama (breath control to encourage the prana to flow)
  5. Pratyahara (sense withdrawal, getting less distracted by outside noises/distractions and going inwards to see what's going on in the inner world)
  6. Dharana (focus)
  7. Dhyana (meditation)
  8. Samadhi (enlightenment)